The Downland Alliance facilitates the coordination of the highly successful Secondary Subject Networks meetings within West Berkshire.

This highly valued sequence of meetings held three times during the academic year provide the opportunity for teachers to come together with like-minded colleagues to share ideas and good practice, and explore challenges and opportunities.

Colleagues have benefitted from valuable discussions from some or all of the following areas in the past:

  • Developing strategies, and sharing ideas
  • Exam moderation, Exam Boards and Resources
  • Sharing resources and exemplar material
  • Curriculum changes, challenges and planning
  • Assessment, and challenges through KS3-5

We currently have well-established networks in the following subject areas. Meeting dates are also included. At the present time, many meetings are taking place online. If you would like to join a network or set up a new one – please get in touch:

Art 
DatesThursday 14 October 2021 – Face-to-face – 4.00pm – 5.00pm
Thursday 17 February 2022 – Face-to-face – 4.00pm – 5.00pm
Thursday 7 July 2022 – Face-to-face – 4.00pm – 5.00pm
Careers 
DatesTuesday 9 November 2021 – Online – 8.30am – 10.30am
Wednesday 9 March 2022 – Online – 8.30am – 10.30am
Thursday 16 June 2022 – Online – 8.30am – 10.30am
Computing/ICT 
Dates: Tuesday 19 October 2021 – Online – 4.00pm
Wednesday 30 March 2022 – Online – 4.00pm
Thursday 23 June 2022 – Online – 4.00pm  
Dance 
DatesThursday 30 September 2021 – Corn Exchange – 4.00pm
Wednesday 12 January 2022 – TBC – 4.00pm – 5.30pm
Tuesday 15 March 2022 – TBC – 4.00pm – 5.30pm  
Design and Technology – details to follow 
DatesOctober 2021
March 2022
June 2022
Drama 
DatesThursday 14 or 21 October 2021 – Online or face-to-face – 4.15pm – 5.15pm TBC
Thursday 3 March 2022 – Face-to-face – 4.15pm – 5.15pm
Thursday 23 June 2022 – Face-to-face – 4.15pm – 5.15pm
English 
DatesWednesday 13 October 2021 – Online – 3.30pm
Wednesday 23 March 2022 – TBC
Wednesday 22 June 2022 – TBC
Geography 
DatesWednesday 13 October 2021 – face-to-face at Trinity – 4.00pm
Wednesday 23 March 2022 – venue TBC – 4.00pm
Thursday 14 June 2022 – venue TBC – 4.00pm  
Health & Social Care   
DatesOctober 2021
March 2022
June 2022  
History 
DatesThursday 14 October 2021 – Online
Tuesday 11 January 2022 – Online
Wednesday 29 June 2022 – Online  
Maths 
DatesThursday 14 October 2021 – Online – 4.00pm – 5.30pm
Wednesday 23 March 2022 – TBC
Thursday 30 June 2022 – TBC
MFL 
DatesTuesday 12 October 2021 – Face-to-face – TBC
Wednesday 23 March 2022 – Online – TBC
Thursday 23 June 2022 – Online – TBC
Music 
DatesTuesday 12 October 2021 – Venue TBC – 2.30pm
Wednesday 9 March 2022 – Online – 3.30pm
Thursday 16 June 2022 – Venue TBC – 2.30pm  
PE 
DatesMonday 27 September 2021 – Face-to-face – 1.30pm – 4.30pm
Friday 28 January 2022 – Online – 1.30pm – 4.30pm
Wednesday 11 May 2022 – Face-to-face – 1.30pm – 4.30pm
Peer Mentoring 
DatesTuesday 28 September 2021 – Online –  4.00pm
Thursday 18 November 2021 Online – 4.00pm
Thursday 17 March (provisional) – West Berks Peer Mentoring Conference
Wednesday 15 June 2022 – Online –  4.00pm  
Pupil Premium 
DatesWednesday 10 November 2021 – Online – 4.00pm – 5.30pm
Tuesday 22 March 2022 – Online – 4.00pm – 5.30pm
Tuesday 21 June 2022 – Online – 4.00pm – 5.30pm  
RE 
DatesThursday 14 October 2021 – Online – 3.30pm – 4.30pm
Wednesday 23 March 2022 – Online – 3.30pm – 4.30pm
Tuesday 21 June 2022 – Online – 3.30pm – 4.30pm  
RSE & Health Education 
DatesThursday 7 October 2021 – Online  Further dates to be set following the first meeting  
Science 
DatesThursday 14 October 2021 – Online – 3.30pm – 4.30pm
Wednesday 23 March 2022 – Online – 3.30pm – 4.30pm
Tuesday 21 June 2022 – Online – 3.30pm – 4.30pm  
Sixth Form 
DatesThursday 14 October 2021 – Online – 3.30pm – 4.30pm
Wednesday 23 March 2022 – Online – 3.30pm – 4.30pm
Tuesday 21 June 2022 – Online – 3.30pm – 4.30pm  
Subject Network Leads Meeting 
DatesWednesday 6 October 2021 – Online – 4.00pm – 5.00pm
Wednesday 16 March 2022 – TBC – 4.00pm – 5.30pm
Tuesday 14 June 2022 – TBC – 4.00pm – 5.30pm  

The following secondary schools are members of the network. If your school subscribes, you can attend a meeting for free If your school does not subscribe but you would like to attend a meeting, please speak to your Headteacher and contact us for further information.

Denefield School
Little Heath Heath
Mary Hare School
St Bartholomew’s School
The Downs School
The Willink School
Theale Green School
Trinity School